Events

March 2017

March

Events in March 2017

Lake Toya Illumination Street Shopping street is decorated with more than 12,000 of little lanterns, to bring the resort fantastic nights. Time: from sunset to 22:00. Nov 1(Tue) to
Mar 31(Fri)
Hokkaido
Toyako Hot Spring
Mountain Rokko and Mountain Maya Winter Festival Various activities are held in Mountain Rokko and Mountain Maya. Not only illumination, food and night attractions, there are also a plentiful of experience activities such as ice-cutting, sweet potatoes bake and music box production. Nov 39(Thu) to
Mar 25(Sat)
Hyogo
Mountain Rokko
Lake Toya Illumination Tunnel There is a 70-meter long illumination tunnel around Lake Toya, creating a fairy tale world. Hokkaido wears the winter season so well, and the illumination is the perfect accompaniment for the Christmas season. Time: 19:00 to 22:00. Nov 11(Fri) to
Mar 5(Sun)
Hokkaido
Toyako Hot Spring
Sapporo White Illumination The tress around Sapporo Odori Park and Sapporo Ekimae-dori are decorated with approximately 370,000 of lighting, creating brilliant works of art that liven up the entire area and bring a romantic night to Sapporo. Nov 18(Fri) to
Mar 14(Sun)
Hokkaido
Sapporo Odori Park
Ice Monster Illumination All trees will be covered with snow and ice and they just look like monsters. It only appears in very few mountains in the world. Ice Monster will be illuminated from 17:00 to 21:00 during the event. Adult 2,600 ye, Child 1,300 yen. Dec 23(Sat) to
Mar 5(Sun)
Yamagata
Jizo Mountain
Ice Festival Many ice statues and objects are colourfully illuminated, and fireworks are displayed on weekends. Events held include a dance of the Ainu, Yosakoi Soran team, and taiko. Jan 25(Wed) to
Mar 20(Mon)
Hokkaido
Soun-kyo Gorge
Lake Akan Ice Festival Lake Akan will be turned into a stage for winter festivities. There will be ice sculpture exhibition and a small ceremony every night. The fireworks display will be presented under the clear night sky too. Feb 1(Wed) to
Mar 12(Sun)
Hokkaido
Lake Akan
Odawara Plum Festival One of the popular plum blossom spots in Japan. You can take part in the plum pit spitting contest or enjoy Horseback Archery Performance, lantern dance and lion dance, poetry reading, outdoor tea ceremony or eating ume-boshi (pickled plum). Feb 4(Sat) to
Mar 5(Sun)
Kanagawa
Odawara Castle Park
Dolls and implements Special Exhibition Antique hina dolls such as "Jirozaemon bina" and "Yusoku bina" and hina doll implements perserved by Maeda family are displayed. Feb 9(Thu) to
Apr 17(Mon)
Ishikawa
Seisonkaku
Dolls in Chuma Around 5,000 dolls are lined up in the front porches of the houses and shops. There are many types of dolls, including dolls which have been passed down from generation to generation and a simple clay doll. The oldest were made 150 years ago. Feb 11(Sat) to
Mar 2(Sun)
Aichi
Chuma Street
Iyashi No Sato Doll Festival Shops are decorated by hanging dolls (tsurushi-bin), one of the costoms to celebrate Japanese girl's day. Dolls are hung at rope or bamboo sticks. Feb 13(Sat) to
Apr 3(Mon)
Yamanashi
Saiko Iyashi No Sato
Tenryo Hita Doll Festival Old houses in Mamedamachi and Kumamachi will display their hina dolls during the festival. Feb 15(Wed) to
Mar 31(Fri)
Oita
Mamedamachi Shopping Street
Stone Steps Doll Festival Lovely children wearing beautiful hina clothes and makeup will appear on the steps. Mar 4(Sat) and
5(Sun)
Gunma
Stone Step Street
Ueno Cherry Blossom Festival During the festival, 1,000 lanterns illuminate the park. Also, a lion dance, antique market and many other events invite people to celebrate the arrival of spring. March 18(Sat)~
April 9(Sun)
Tokyo
Ueno Park
Mazu Festival The portable shrine parade, lion and dragon dance will be held to celebrate the opening of Mazu Temple. Parade time 15:00 to 17:00. Mar 20(Mon) Kanagawa
Yokohama Chinatown
Tsuchiura Cherry Blossom Festival There will be events such as outdoor tea ceremony and Japanese traditional music performance during the festival. Cherry trees will be illuminated at night. Mar 25(Sat) to
Apr 9(Sun)
Ibaraki
Kijo Park
Nijojo Castle Illumination Evening light up features hundreds of simultaneously blooming cherry blossoms strewn about its grounds. Many of the visitors are decked out in traditional yukata robes and geta shoes. 6pm - 9pm. Mar 27(Fri) to
Apr 16(Sun)
Kyoto
Nijojo Castle
 
TOP
TOP